I know this guy who I've been teaching. He's not the most talented/gifted person I know. Which is basically a euphemistic way of saying, he sucks.
I thought of giving up on him. Tell him that I don't want to teach him no more. So I tried. But again, he's not the smartest guy in the world. One day, I asked him if he wanted to try something new. He told me, "No, I'm going to stick with this." I thought to myself, how can I quit of him? He's so committed.
What in the hell was I thinking?
Dude says he has a competition. So I'm thinking, we have to make use of every opportunity to practice. One day, I wasn't free so we changed the session to Sunday. I sent him a message, asking him to come practice. Somehow he changed his mind and he told me 2 hours wasn't enough. Sure it wasn't enough, because every time we start practicing he wants to do something else like play pool or ping-pong or something.
Now take that scenario and multiply it by 10. That's how many times I got stood up because he changed his mind or some bullshit like that.
Just today, I sent him a message. Asked him to come practice tomorrow. He says no, he's staying up the whole night so he has to sleep the whole day tomorrow.
Of all the ungrateful bastards I know, this dude is the worst.
I take my time and energy and patience to teach him. But every time, seems like he has something more important to do. And he has the nerve to criticize others, saying how they're such posers. But he ain't much better.
I tell him he's not going to get good enough in time for the competition, but he keeps telling me to relax. Shit, why would I be nervous? I just don't want the dude to embarrass himself. But somehow he doesn't see it that way. From what I know, he thinks he's all that.
I'm going to try and end this once and for all, but I don't know how.
Labels: bastard, jie, kang, uncommitted, ungrateful, zhang